St. Bernard Sports Hall of Fame to Host 22nd Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony

The St. Bernard Sports Hall of Fame and Gulf Coast Bank are proud to announce its 22nd annual induction class and award winners. The induction class includes Jimmy Smith, Jose Becerra, and Kelly Melerine Plaisca. Rick Mocklin, Sr. has been named Humanitarian of the Year, and the Elphage Caillouette Special Recognition Award will be presented to Mike Biamonte. The Amateur Athletes of the Year are Dominic Curole of Chalmette High, Gabrielle O’Neil of Cabrini High, and Emily Pulley of Chalmette High. Andre Dorsey will be presented with a Crystal Award in honor of his participation in the 2016 Olympic Trials. Mitchell Robinson of Chalmette High School will also be recognized for his recent accolades, including participating in the McDonald's All-American Basketball game. The Hall of Fame will also be honoring the 1967 and 1968 Andrew Jackson High School softball teams.

Longtime National Football League specials teams coach Bobby April will be the guest speaker at this year’s ceremony. The event will be held at the Frederick J. Sigur Civic Center in Chalmette on Saturday, April 8th at 6:30pm. Tickets are $500/table of ten or $50/person. A cash bar will be available.

Please forward all ticket inquiries to one of the following Hall of Fame board members:

Roy Cortes (985) 246-8354
Dr. Bryan Frichter (Teasurer) (504) 554-2685
Eddie Appel (President) (504) 301-6135
Dr. Jerry Graves (Vice-President)